Close Attractions

Etal Castle - Northumberland


In 1341, Robert Manners was granted a licence to fortify his home to protect it against the threat of attack from Scottish raiders. In 1513, when an army of 30,000 Scots led by James IV invaded England, Etal Castle fell, but these invaders were then defeated in the bloody battle that ensued on Flodden Hill. An award-winning exhibition tells the story of the Battle of Flodden and of the border warfare that existed here before the union of the English and Scottish crowns in 1603.


Abbotsford House


Abbotsford is the house built and lived in by Sir Walter Scott, the 19th century novelist, and author of timeless classics such as Waverley, Rob Roy, Ivanhoe and The Lady of the Lake. Situated on the banks of the River Tweed, west of Melrose, the house contains an impressive collection of historic relics, weapons and armour including Rob Roy's gun and Montrose's Sword. There is also a library containing over 9,000 rare volumes. Visitors will be able to see Sir Walter Scott's Study, Library, Drawing Room, Entrance Hall, Armouries and the Dining Room where he died on 21st September 1832. There are Extensive Grounds, a Walled Garden and a Woodland Walk for visitors to enjoy.


Torwoodlee Golf Club - Galashiels


Torwoodlee is a private members club to which visitors from around the world receive a warm welcome. Situated just outside Galashiels in the beautiful Scottish Borders countryside, Torwoodlee is easily accessible from Edinburgh and Glasgow in Scotland, and Newcastle and Carlisle in England. With over 100 years of history, Torwoodlee is a picturesque 18 hole 6021yard Par69 golf course. Flanked by the river Gala and set amongst a mix of mature woodland and rolling parkland, it is one of the most challenging courses in the Scottish Borders. Visitors and Golfing Societies are given a warm welcome on arrival in the clubhouse.


Mary Queen of Scots House and Visitor Centre - Jedburgh


A small stroll away from the 12th century Abbey and located in a garden of pear trees, this house was visited by Mary in October 1566. She had come to the Borders via Traquair House to preside at local courts and stayed for four weeks, most of the time spent recuperating from her difficult ride to visit her future lover, the Earl of Bothwell at Hermitage Castle.